top of page

Progress 8 Information


Curriculum & Assessment Changes

Progress 8

  • Pupils are measured on how much progress they make from when they start in Year 7 to when they complete their examinations at the end of Year 11 in eight subjects that meet the Department for Education criteria.

  • The Progress 8 measure is designed to encourage all students to study a broad and balanced curriculum.

  • For each pupil, the 8 subjects must be a combination from the diagram below:



Attainment 8

  • Shows a pupils’ average achievement [grade] across the 8 subjects in the Progress 8 measure.

English and Mathematics

  • Measures whether a pupil achieves a Grade 5 or better in both English (either Language or Literature) and Mathematics.

The English Baccalaureate

  • Shows whether a pupil achieved good grades (A*-C or 5-9) across the EBacc qualifications listed above.

What does Progress 8 mean for pupils?

  • Taking a broad range of KS4 subject choices, moving into Year 10.

  • Achieving across all subjects.

  • Not dropping subjects.

  • Careful monitoring of progress all of the time.

Alternative Curriculum Provision

  • Where these subjects are not appropriate for an individual pupil, alternative provision is recommended by the College, to develop individual pupil strengths and maximise pupil achievement ensuring a smooth transition to post-16 provision.

bottom of page